Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Review of Something Witchy This Way Comes by HP Mallory

Fans of HP Mallory will not be disappointed with this last installment to the Jolie Wilkins Series.
Mallory, an up and coming new author, and one to watch. The Wilkins series will be sure to be on the keeper shelf of any reader that loves romance with paranormal/urban fantasy twists.

Jolie had always known she had paranormal abilities; after all, she's run her own business using those talents. Her life changes drastically when she discovers her talents are far more than what she'd thought. Not only does she have powers, but she's a witch. Her love interest, Rand, is the one that takes her under his wing to introduce her to the life in the Underworld.

Now, at last, many of the burning questions will be answered.  Will she pick the hot and sexy vampire Sinjin or the equally sexy warlock, Rand Balfour? will she finally accept her role as queen of the underworld or will  she find a way to rid herself of a position she never wanted?

I won't spoil the book by answering those questions, but what I can tell you unequivocally is that Mallory has created a world so rich in detail that you can quite literally feel yourself in it.  her characters are rich, three-dimensional and full of life.

One of my favorite things about the series overall has been the growth of Jolie Wilkins under the tutelage of Rand Balfour and Sinjin Sinclair.

Few surpass the talent Mallory shows in creating a world so rich. She's able to portray feelings and desires of her characters that truly make the reader become immersed in her world. I'm quite sure I'm not the only one sad to know this is the last in the series--though I hear there is a spin-off series I'll be anxiously awaiting.
There are few authors that are an auto-buy on my list.  Mallory is one of them. From the first book I read of hers, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble, I was hooked.

There are several criteria necessary for me to rate a book with 5 stars. A believable and well-written plot, characters that are three dimensional, the ability not to info-dump while telling a truly compelling story. And, lastly, of course, characters I care about.  Mallory hit my 5 in all areas.

I'm an avid romance reader, and love paranormal romance, but this book is even more.  The level of detail she shows in her writing literally bring the words off the pages. I found myself unable to stop once I began the book.

Even though this is the last of the series, we learn so much more about Jolie than we have in the other books. She's left an ending that will make a spin-off series a pleasure to read. I can barely wait.

While I did receive this copy via Net Galley to review, I'd have bought it in a heartbeat.
Be sure to read the other books in the series as well. 

5/5 Stars. A MUST READ. This title can be pre-ordered here: Amazon Link

Saturday, April 7, 2012

The Rebellious Princess Chooses Two Lovers by Carolyn Rosewood

The Rebellious Princess Chooses Two Lovers by Carolyn Rosewood
In a post-apocalyptic world where pseudo-medieval kingdoms have once again evolved. Princess Cadence of the New West Dominion, a woman used to getting as much sex as she wants, is being forced to choose just one lover, and to keep face with the other kingdoms her parents are insisting he be a real prince.

Dominic of the Northern Free Zone has been sent a royal invitation by Queen Sasha and King Lassiter by mistake. He's bored at home, and has heard of Cadence and her skills in the bedroom, so he dresses the part of a prince and sets off for her castle.

It soon becomes apparent she's more than he bargained for - in and out of the bedroom - and when he realizes she has a soft spot for Ethan, one of the royal gardeners, and that the man is totally besotted with her, he invites Ethan to join them in bed.


This is not any fairytale you heard as a child.

This book is written like a classic fairytale with a couple of very important twists. I love how Ms. Rosewood gave this fairytale a post-apocalyptic setting. And the princess in this story is no blushing virgin, but a passionate woman who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to go after it.

The story begins with "Once upon a time..." and each chapter has a similar heading such as: "The Princess took a stroll in the garden." This book has it all. The fairytale dreams and the desert settings of a future land. The "princes" (there are two of course) are no Princes at all. One is a servant and one is pretending to be a Prince. In my book they were both Prince Charming, each able to love Cadence in their own distinct way. Of course their is the usual royal intrigue and melodrama, complete with plenty of hot steamy love scenes. This story is not for a child or the faint of heart. Cadence's Princes take her firmly in hand and show her who is boss. That's just the way she likes it.

I loved this book. It has the headstrong heroine, an alpha hero, and a compassionate hero. What's not to love about this book? The shortness. *pout* I would love to read more about this fairytale land of Princes, Princesses and gardeners sneaking into your bedroom. Maybe one with a stable hand...Just some food for thought, Ms. Rosewood. If you plan to continue this as a series, I will be first in line to buy.

Review by Ursula Avery

Wicked Weekend by Gillian Archer

Wicked Weekend by Gillian Archer

Buy Amazon:Wicked Weekend
Buy BN: Wicked Weekend

Why did Lauren Vaughn introduce her sister to the man she herself was crazy about? Now Lauren is watching the happy couple at their combined bachelor/bachelorette party—while Lauren sits all alone at the bar. Until she spots a hot stranger with the telltale black handkerchief in his pocket: the signal for "seeks no-strings affair with sexy submissive." Lauren can't take her eyes off him. So when he comes over, she kicks her inner good girl to the curb and follows Jamie Forman to his room, where he makes her scream with pleasure all night long.

But Jamie is a complicated man. He can't handle how desperately he wants her in his bed—and his life. It's up to Lauren to teach him how to make all night last forever.

This book was a short but hot read. The sex was steamy and the overall story was good. The heroines sister was a bitch and I am happy to see she got what she deserved. And I was relieved that Lauren realized how lucky she was to haved dodged that bullet. As far as Jamie, he is definitely a tortured hero: my favorite kind!

I kind of felt that the H/H had a lot of baggage and the story was really too short to explain it away. Also I was a little confused about the "flagging" thing. I don't know if it wasn't better explained because the author assumes a prior knowledge of it all (which I don't have) or maybe she only felt that she explained it enough for the story. In that case, I guess she did, but I like to know details. And that is my failing. I like short stories because they are fast to read, but sometimes I feel like I don't get enough details. Again, my problem. I don't want to stop reading novellas or short stories, but so many of them leave me wanting more.

This book is the first in a series so I am hoping in the future books there will be more explaining of "flagging" Overall, I did enjoy the book. As I explained most of the issues I had with it, were my own personal preference issues. I recommend you give this book a try. I will be looking out for book two in the series.

Review by Ursula Avery

Worth The Scandal by Karen Erickson

Print all In new window

Worth The Scandal by Karen Erickson
Buy Amazon:  Worth The Scandal
Buy BN: Worth The Scandal


"Strictly business? Try telling that to her heart..."

"Worth It, Book 1"

Alexander Worth, President and CEO of Worth Luxury Goods, is a man never to be crossed. His unwavering sense of responsibility to the family business requires him to always be in complete and utter control. Until it comes to Tessa Crawford.

She's quietly professional, shy, voluptuous...and she works for him. Which means she is the one woman he must never touch, no matter how hard his gut twists with need for her.

After rising above her disadvantaged childhood, Tessa knows the last thing she should do is risk throwing it all away by falling into bed with her sexy boss. But on an extended European business trip, all self-imposed barriers burn away in the heat of their sizzling chemistry.

Once back home, though, whispers of corporate espionage turn into full-blown scandal-and Tessa finds out the hard way where Alex's loyalties lie. Determined to soldier on, she picks herself up and carries on with a secret, yet welcomed burden. Never guessing that Alex will make a reappearance in her life, ready to show her once and for all that family does, indeed, come first.

Warning: Contains a sweet-yet-strong woman, and a bossy alpha male brought to his knees by the woman he desperately loves. Involves enough begging and groveling that the reader may be tempted to "accidentally" leave it for her significant other to "find." For instructional purposes only, of course

I can't begin to tell you how I loved this book. But I am sure going to try. I knew going in that Alex was going to make me want to slap his handsome, arrogant face. Ms. Erickson did not disappoint! I was drawn into this book and wasn't able to put it down until I finished. (Thanks a lot Karen for the super late night and long ass day at work that followed.)

The drama, the emotion, and the sex! All the intensity! I loved it. We also got a satisfying glimpse of the other two Worth brothers. I just know their stories are going to be equally fantastic.

In the scene where Alex fires Tessa, as she is riding the elevator down, I was there. I could literally picture her doing the slow slide down the wall and the expression on the security guard's face when those doors opened. I was right there with Tessa, feeling like the world had just ended for her. Ms. Erickson has a way of writing a scene, in fact the whole book, so that you are right there. You ARE Tessa. My heart wrenched and tears threatened.

I absolutely love reading books that make me feel the emotions as the character is experiencing them. And Ms. Erickson certainly does not disappoint in this. I am eagerly awaiting the next installment in the Worth It series. The other two brothers are as flawed as Alex and I am especially looking forward to how the author will redeem Rhett Worth. Well done Ms. Erickson!

Review by Ursula Avery

Play Nice by Gemma Halliday

Play Nice by Gemma Halliday

AMAZON: Play Nice

She faked her death to escape life as an assassin. But now her enemies have tracked her down, and this time they want her to stay dead.

Anya Danielovich was a highly-trained killing machine in her former life. But that was a long time ago. Today she's just Anna Smith - a single, thirtysomething woman living in San Francisco with an undemanding day job, a loving, if dim-witted, dog, and a simple desire to lead a simple better life. But she's still haunted by her past - the people she killed, the mentor she betrayed, the woman she was. She's taken care to cover her tracks, but she's beginning to feel like she's being watched...
Nick Dade is a hired gunman, the best of the best. He's read Anya's file inside-out and, after weeks of surveillance, he's ready to pull the trigger...until someone else beats him to the punch. With his agenda shattered, Nick suddenly finds himself thrown together with the woman he's been sent to eliminate. Who is she really? Who hired the second hit? And who can he trust? Together Nick and Anna find themselves embroiled in a web of deceit and desire as an unknown enemy - one with dangerous ties to Anna's former life, and a present-day political assassination - closes in. To unravel the truth, Anna must face her past even if that means risking both Dade's life and her own...for good this time.

I got an advance copy of this story to review and boy am I ever glad! I have been a huge Gemma Halliday fan since I picked up the very first book in the High Heels Mystery series. So when I had the chance to read her latest, I jumped at it.

A total departure from the zany, friend-centric stories in the High Heels series, Play Nice is a non-stop thrill ride from page one. The story of an assasin trying to leave her former life behind is full of twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. This book was really high voltage and I found myself reading faster and faster, both in an effort to keep up with the super fast action and to find out what was going to happen next.

Of course, you can not write a review about this book and not mention the explosive chemistry between Anna and Nick. The sparks fly fast and furious with these two. All this despite the fact that he was sent to kill her and she will do anything to get away.I am trying really hard to be careful what I say so as not to give anything away.

When I got done reading this story, I felt as though I had run a marathon. The fast pace and plot twists left me feeling mentally exhausted and satisfied all at the same time. This story was fantastic and I can not wait to see what happens next in this series! I can't say it any stronger than this: Go buy the book. Now. I see you still sitting there. Get going! It is seriously worth it.

Review by Ursula Avery

Sweetest Seduction by K.B. Alan

Sweetest Seduction by K.B. Alan

Amazon: Sweetest Seduction
Barnes & Noble: Sweetest Seduction

Val’s been Keith’s accountant for nearly a year. She dreams about his body pressed against hers, but there’s no need to let him in on that fact. The hunky photographer spends his days with beautiful models, there’s absolutely no way she can compete. Even if he has been throwing hints her way. She’s satisfied with her vibrator and her daydreams of her favorite client. Mostly.Keith is done trying to sweet-talk his accountant into going out with him. It’s Valentine’s Day, and knowing Val, she doesn’t have any plans beyond putting in a full day’s work. No more asking nicely, he’s just going to plan the day his way and pull her along until she gets with the program. He’s sure a proper date will help Val realize he’s just the man she needs. And a proper date includes lots of touching. And exploring. And toys of a battery-operated nature.


I really enjoyed this story. It was cute and sweet and kept my attention from the start. I liked how determined Keith is to win Val over. He really likes her and it showed in all the effort he put into making sure thay have the perfect first date. He manages to win her over despite herself. The author has penned a wonderful, sexy, romantic story that reminds me why I love reading. It is the perfect short story to get your mind off life and on hot steamy sex. Oh and romance. *g*

Review by Ursula Avery

Western Ties by Jayne Rylon & Mari Carr

Western Ties by Jayne Rylon & Mari Carr   Buy Amazon:Western Ties
Compass Brothers, Book 4

Leah Hollister’s sex life needs a swift kick in the pants. Small-town Compton Pass, though, isn’t the place to explore her need for bondage. When she gets an invitation to a BDSM party out in LA, she wastes no time booking a flight.

Her plan to play anonymously is shot to hell when she runs into high-school crush Sawyer Compton—and he lays immediate claim to her.

Sawyer Compton commands total control, in and out of the bedroom. He never thought Leah could handle his darker urges, but one look at the white bracelet that marks her as a sub ripe for the picking, and he knows exactly how this night is going to end. With Leah in his bed.

Leah didn’t expect to enjoy the comfort Sawyer’s familiarity brings, even as his touch takes her to unimaginable heights of pleasure. When bad news from home sends him reeling, she’s more than prepared to offer him anything he needs: her body, her friendship. Even her heart—if Sawyer can loosen the reins over his own to accept her love.

Product Warnings
Invest in tissues. Lots and lots of tissues. Between spicy, set-the-sheets-on-fire bondage romps and the last Compass brother coming home, you'll need them.
The following review contains some spoilers...Leave now if you don't want to read them.

This book was the culmination of a four book series. You really have to read them all in order because there are parts of them that are all happening at the same time.

That being said, if you have read the first three books, you knew a little bit of what was going to happen in this one. Knowing it was going to happen and reading it are two different things.

This book blew me away. Of course I bawled. Last chance to leave before the spoilers...

Still with me?

(Spoiler ALERT)

This was a wonderful end to the series. Finally we get to know Sawyer. I have to say, I was really pissed for him. I thought the way the brothers kept JD's illness from him was selfish and while they had what seemed like good motives, when it comes to loved ones, sometimes that just makes it worse. Of course I knew eventually that he would forgive them, but I felt like he gave in too easily. I was mad for him and wanted them to suffer just a little longer. Of course each of them has been suffering in their own ways in each of the books.

Leah was the perfect choice for Sawyer. In the beginning we get a chance to get to know her and how she relates to Sawyer. The dynamic of their relationship is colored by their past acquaintance. She is a rock for Sawyer when he needs her most and proves time and time again that she is more than a match for the fourth Compass brother. No matter what her own personal demons, she never lets them get in the way of being there for him.

So we all knew that this was THE END of the series. This book was a wonderful, moving, sad and uplifting book. We all knew that JD was going to die and that it would most likely happen in this book. There was way too much build up for it not to be going that way. But Holy Hannah, the authors could not have written a more dignified or moving death of a character. I knew it was going to be sad, I knew others had cried. I was prepared. Still I found myself, lying in bed, reading this book with tears silently coursing down my face.

The fact that I am reading this one day after my Uncle succumbed to a 20+ year battle with Leukemia just yesterday, probably didn't help. Oh hell, here I go again. I can't say any more.

You must read this book, but above all you must read the entire series. It is a moving portrayal of the kind of family everyone wishes they had. And for four books, you do. You will feel like this IS your family while reading this series.  

Reviewed by Ursula Avery

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

The Indie Author's Guide to the Universe 5/5 Stars

Indie Author's Guide to the Universe by Jeff Bennington is an excellent read for anyone that is an author. While it was written, I believe, for those authors that intend to self-publish, the information is excellent for any author. As both an indie Author and a small-press author, I found the information in this book very, very useful. But even for those mid-list authors--this book is simply a must-read. Face facts--most authors don't get a lot of press from their publisher. Unless you're a James Patterson or Amanda Hocking, you're simply going to get a contract and a book out in a year or two. Sales very often don't cover the advance. It's reality. This book gives a concise guide to all steps in the publishing process. But more importantly, or just as important, it gives you absolutely necessary tips on promoting your book once it's out in the world. Using just a few of the tips I've read about, my own book,[...] hit the Amazon Top 100 Seller's List in its genre. In just two or three days. Today, for example, it's at #50 as of this writing. It had a ranking in the hundreds of thousands before I took the steps Jeff laid out in the book. The tips and suggestions are current. He gives you not only steps to take--but even suggests sites to go to for your necessary steps from editing to making your covers. I've read several books on writing over the years--but this is the first on the steps to publication. If you read no other book on publishing your book--read this one. The layout makes it very easy to find just the information you want--but I certainly recommend reading it from cover to cover. Download the sample--look it through--and you'll see why The Indie Author's Guide to the Universe is a must-have book for any author. Get it today. Read it, and use the steps suggested. I predict that authors that have a good book and use the tips in this book will see their numbers rise on Amazon. Many non-fiction how-to books are very dry to read. Not the case with this book. It's easy to read, with just enough personality to make you want to not only take the steps--but see what else Jeff Bennington has to say. He's also gives you information from other authors that have made the Top 100 Lists. The main thing I took from this book is to assure you're putting out a quality product and promoting it. If you're a writer, you're in business


Friday, March 23, 2012

Book Review- The Day of First Sun

Sheryl Steines has created a book that will be reminiscent of books you've loved over the years. To sum it up quickly--think Harry Potter all grown up!

No, this isn't Harry Potter all over again--but it has the magic, the kinship and the story of good overcoming evil that we've come to expect from JK Rowling and other fine fantasy authors--whether they be YA or Adult novels.

This is definitely an adult book, though older teens would enjoy it as well, I believe. Imagine a world where magic beings exist. Witches and Wizards that live among society in secret. In the world Steine created, the characters live in Modern Chicago. The Guard are there to keep the peace in the world and act as liaisons almost with the FBI.

The prologue gives the reader the setting in general or the story. We know it's going to have magical characters. I love magical beings. Witches, wizards, sprites and more. Oh, did I mention vampires? Only these vampires aren't ones you'll fall in love with.

Anne Pearce is partnered with Cham Chamsky, and they work for the Wizard Guard--the law enforcement agency that deals with all things magical.

When a human princess is murdered with absolutely no forensic evidence, Annie and Cham are called in to search for clues.

What cold have been a routine murder mystery with a tad bit of magic and romance tossed in was so much more.

The world is believable, The characters are three-dimensional and the writing is superb. This is a debut author, but you'd never know it. The story is fast paced and the action never stops.

It's a delightful blend of fantasy, urban fantasy, mystery and thriller all in one well-crafted book.

This is the first book in the series. I can't wait or book two!

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

The Half-Breed Vampire by Theresa Meyers

The Half-Breed Vampire by Theresa Meyers is the third installment in her Harlequin Nocturne Sons of Midnight series. In this world, humans know about vampires.

My main issue with the story is that I was a bit confused, as I didn't know the mythology in the story--but it was easy to catch up. I would recommend, though, that you read the other two before the third if this kind of thing annoys you.

Slade Donovan only knows that he's a vampire. He knows he's having some kind of moon-sickness, but doesn't know the cause.  When he runs into a game officer, Raina Ravenwing, he's forced to save her to keep the human population from finding out about Were shifters. He uses his abilities to make sure she forgets the encounter and is sure he won't have to worry about seeing her again.

 No one is more surprised than he is when he's summoned to the commander's office and told he has to help Raina track a pack of wolves. Of course, Slade knows it's because the vampires don't want her hurt--she just assumes it's because he's their best tracker.

Slade's past is very mysterious.  He doesn't know how he came to be alone in an alley at age eight--but his full alliegiance is with the vampires that took him in and raised him. There is much he doesn't know that puts him--and Raina--in danger.

I enjoyed the story very much. Ms. Meyers has created a wonderful mythology and has added Native American lore that make the story intriguing. This reviewer will be reading the rest of the series.
The writing is tight and the pace is just fast enough to keep you turning pages to see what happens next. Her characters are believable and the story flows well. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more at the end--I felt there were questions left unanswered, but I have a feeling they will be answered in the next book--and please, don't take this to mean it was a cliffhanger. It wasn't.

I enjoyed learning more about Slade Donovan and Raina Ravenwing. If I care about the characters and what happens to them, then the author has created a very good book.

I will admit I'm biased toward Vampire and Shifter stories--I love them.  That bias, though, also allows me to know when one is done well--this one was. I loved it.

This copy of  THE HALF-BREED VAMPIRE was provided by the Publisher via Netgalley.
I'm a first-time reader of Ms. Myer's work, but certainly will look for more of her excellent series.


Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Only The Innocent by Rachel Abbott

Plot Summary: (From Amazon)

When Laura Fletcher approaches her home in Oxfordshire to
find hordes of photographers crowding the gates, she knows there is something
terribly wrong. She is faced with the shocking news that her husband is dead -
brutally murdered - and according to Chief Inspector Tom Douglas, there is
little doubt that the murderer is a woman.

In a marriage that has taken her from the glamorous five
star luxury of London, Venice and Positano to a bleak and draughty manor house
in rural Oxfordshire, Laura has learned to guard her secrets well. She is not
alone. It would appear that all the women in her husband's life have
something to hide.

But there is one secret that she has never shared, and
when the investigation reaches its dramatic and horrific climax, she realises
that she has no choice. She has to give Tom Douglas the final piece of the
puzzle. And this changes everything, leaving Douglas with a terrible dilemma:
whether to punish the guilty, or protect the innocent.

REVIEW: 5/5 Stars

I admit, I heard about this book and asked if I could review it for the author. I just had to read it. I won't summarize the plot, as that's already been done well by the other reviewers.

If you're expecting your run of the mill mystery, this so isn't it. This book has more twists and turns than any book I've read in a long time. Ms. Abbott keeps the reader turning pages and guessing right up til the end.

Most first-time novelists make many amateur mistakes--this certainly isn't the case with Only The Innocent. I was very surprised to find this was Rachel's first book.

This is a psychological thriller that will make you think. The author did a fantastic job making real characters that are so much more than what you'd expect. From the first page, the reader is hooked. Not once did I find myself skimming over parts of the book. Every word moved the story to it's dramatic conclusion. I look forward to more by this truly gifted author.

Only The Innocent

Friday, February 17, 2012

Initiation - Book One of the Bonfire Chronicles was written by Imogen Rose. Her books are a wonderful mix of paranormal and YA-Teen reads.

This book is a prequel to Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles) but it's not necessary to have read Faustine to read and understand Initiation. There are some small tie-ins with Imogen's PORTAL series as well. I recommend them all.

Initiation is the story of Cordelia, a student at the Bonfire Academy in Switzerland. Cordelia is selected to be a mentor to the half-human hybrid demon, Faustine, when she enters the Academy. From the start, Cordelia shines as she protects Faustine from shifters out to harm Faustine.

Cordelia has graduated from school, but she's taken an extra year to do extracurricular activities--like tennis and skiing--but you don't refuse when the King of the London demons is the charge you're asked to mentor.

While Cordelia is a full-demon, Faustine is only half. This puts her in danger, as the school also has vampires--and they are young vampires, just learning how to control their urges to feed.

Throughout the book, Cordelia is tasked with keeping Faustine safe and to help her grow and learn about her demon abilities. No one is more shocked than Cordelia when she discovers that Faustine seems to disappear--literally--when in danger. Not only that, she's one heck of a scary demon--she doesn't just morph--she GROWS!

Midst all this, and the mystery of Faustine's strange abilities, Cordelia has to figure out her feelings for Jagger, the faery, that she's wildly attracted to--and Quinn, a fellow demon, and her current boyfriend.

It's a busy year at the Academy, and I highly recommend you read the books and join the fun ride! The book is extremely well-written and well-edited, which is something sometimes hard to find in an indie published book.

We don't use stars on this site, but I certainly left 5 stars on my Amazon review. Initiation well-earned it.

Thursday, February 16, 2012


Goodnight Tweetheart was a quick, fun read. Anyone familiar with Twitter will find it really easy to get. Non-Tweeters will be able to understand Twitter based on Mark's explanations to the non-Tweeter Abby-so you don't have to understand Twitter to enjoy the book.

Abby is a terrified she can no longer write--after all, how do you top an almost-Pulitzer and Oprah Pick? She's past deadline and still on Chapter Five. She's more than willing to play with the Twitter account her publicist sets up for her--since it lets her avoid her blank document page.

Her first message is " anyone out there" or something similar. Soon, she gets a response: "Are you a virgin" (He meant TWITTER virgin, of course)

It's constant banter from then on! As one that enjoys sarcastic wit--I loved the discussions! I found myself laughing one minute and on the verge of tears by the end.

Both Mark and Abby are witty and charming. It's clear they have a lot in common as they 'tweet' each other over the next several months.

Just when she's wondering if she can have a relationship with someone 'online', she discovers Mark has lied to her all along. Will she walk away? Will she ever get past Chapter Five?

You'll have to read the book to find out!

Beware: This is not a traditional romance. You won't find the HEA strict romance book readers have come to expect. As Ms. Medeiros said, though, "It doesn't have a bad ending"

I nominated this book for a book club I moderate--just so I'd have an excuse to read it, LOL.

Ms. Medeiros has a fun, easy to read style. You'll find yourself turning the pages quickly. I love a book where it seems like what is within is 'possible'...and Goodnight, Tweetheart is a book that I could definitely see happening in the new day where more and more people meet via the Internet.

Goodnight, Tweetheart  can be purchased on Amazon and other retailers.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Frost Bitten by Eliza Gayle

I'm pleased to have Ursula Avery join this site to write reviews. Here's her first for Books2LoveReviews

Frost Bitten by Eliza Gayle. This book is available exclusively at All Romance e-Books
Hello! For your reviewing pleasure I offer the latest story from Eliza Gayle. When I was offered the chance to review this book, I jumped at it! I am a southern girl by birth (and at heart) who lives in the North. HATE winter. We have been blessed this year with an extraordinarily mild winter. But, it has been cold.  So I Just knew this book would heat things up!

ARe blurb:
Resistance may be possible, but who are they kidding?

While on a search and rescue mission in the middle of a snowstorm, Seth and his twin Trent catch the scent of an unfamiliar shifter. Drawn to locate the source they hike deep into the woods to an abandoned cabin where they find an enticing little jaguar in the throes of heat.

Tired of being smothered by her five brothers and the pressure to mate, Daisy wanted nothing more than a week alone in the middle of freaking no where. The last thing she needed was a run in with two sexy as sin—and totally off limits—cougar shifters. Unfortunately, she’s not the kind of woman to leave them out in the cold.

Faced with the misery of unmet sexual desire or hot, no strings attached sex with two men… What’s a girl to do?

I loved it!

As the snow falls outside my window...again (darn it! Why must it snow!?), I can easily imagine that I am in Frost Bitten. As I said: not a winter lover, but if I had sexy shifter twins hunkered down in an abandoned cabin with me, like Daisy does, I sure would love it more! Once again Eliza Gayle has delivered a fun, sexy hot read that draws you into the world of cat shifters. I love that her heroine has a strong personality and doesn’t need to rely on men. And that she isn’t afraid to change then when the right men come along. I love that the men are strong, alpha males, who are determined to win their mate. This sizzling hot book is a perfect read on a snowy day…or a hot one. Cause let’s face it; Eliza Gayle is good reading anytime! Go buy the book. You won’t be disappointed!

Ursula Avery

All Reviews are the property of the reviewer, and are used with permission.  No portion of this review may be used elsewhere without giving credit to this site and the reviewer.

Friday, February 10, 2012

Wicked By Any Other Name by Linda Wisdom

Linda Wisdom continues in this book with her wonderful characters, the witches, expelled from the Witchy Academy all those many years ago...

Stasi, a 700+ year-young with owns a small boutique in a small California mountain town. She and her friend and fellow witch Blair, keep returning to the town that they love.

Things are great. Mortals know about the existence of witches, and the fears of the long-ago Salem Witch Trials are a thing of the past...the new, enlightened society doesn't fear witches, for heavens' sake-or do they?

When Stasi puts a little extra in a sachet in the purchase Carrie makes, the sparks and hearts fly. Stasi gets a letter informing her that the despicable Carrie is suing her for alienation of affection. She blames Stasi for husband # four leaving her. She takes her case to Wizard attorney Trevor Barnes. Trevor, believing the conniving Carrie takes the case and goes to meet the witch.

Remember those hearts? Cupid apparently has a sense of distorted humor, as the hearts Stasi and he see can mean only one thing-they are meant to be together.

While Stasi is attracted sexually to Trevor, how can she even consider Trevor when he's the attorney helping Carrie ruin her good name?

If all that isn't enough, something strange is going on in their happy lake town. The people start acting strange and their peaceful lake has been tainted by ancient magicks. Trevor and Staci, along with their friends set out to find the problem.

You will enjoy the return of Jazz and Nick from 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover and the antics of the bunny slippers, Huff and Puff...oh, and did I mention the cursed gargoyle, Horace and the were-border collie, Jake?

This story is a fun read and will keep you guessing til the end. The story is a fun read, with just a tad bit of mystery tossed in. I always enjoy paranormal/urban fantasy love stories. This book has a more chick lit feel than the old traditional Harlequin book, which is what makes it a 5 star read by a very prolific, charming author any reader will want to add to their collection of favorites.

Be sure to find the others that are somewhat connected, Demon Does It Better (Demons) Hex Appeal Hex in High Heels (Jazz Tremaine)Demons Are a Girl's Best Friend A Demon Does It Better the Demon books also contain the witchy women!

Linda Wisdom's 50 WAYS to HEX YOUR LOVER

I've been a fan of Linda Wisdom for almost 30 years. Now, she's got two new series!  50 Ways to Hex Your Lover is book 1 in the Hex Series.  Some of the characters she mentions in these 4 books are in her newest Demon Series.


Jazz can't decide whether to scorch him with a fireball or jump into bed with him.

Jasmine Tremaine, a witch who can't stay out of trouble.

Nikolai Gregorivich, a drop-dead gorgeous vampire cop on the trail of a serial killer.

The sizzling love affair between Jazz and Nick has been off-again, on-again-for about 300 years. Mostly off, lately. But now Nick needs Jazz's help, and while Jazz and Nick try to figure out their own hearts and resist their ever-increasing attraction, they must steer clear of a maniacal killer with super-supernatural powers. They are surrounded by a hilarious cast of oddball paranormal characters, including Irma, the chain-smoking ghost who haunts Jazz's sports car, Dweezil, her ghoul of a boss, and Fluff and Puff, a pair of bunny slippers with sharp teeth and short tempers (watch your ankles)!


I've enjoyed many of Linda Wisdom's books over the years, and this one was no exception. The first pages let you know the main character is a rule breaker, and off we go!

Jazz has been banished from her witchy school, along with 12 of her friends, to the mortal realm. One elder witch wonders if the girls can survive, and the headmistress smiles and says she's more worried about the poor mortals!

Jazz has done well for herself, despite her banishment and a serious trauma in her not-so-distant past. Now, she removes hexes and donates most of the proceeds to charity...that is when she's not driving otherworldly creatures as a limo driver.

When old on/off again flame Nick shows up in town, her famous temper literally fires up, and he has to convince the fiery witch to help her find out why his fellow vampires are disappearing. She's reluctant untill he tells her he believes the culprit is the man responsible for her trauma in the past.

The story is funny and quirky, but there are some disturbing things in Jazz's past that give the book just enough 'realism and grit' to not make it as light as the cover would seem to dictate.

The secondary characters are a blast, especially the vicious bunny slippers, Fluff & Puff. Oh, and did I mention the ghost, Irma,  that Jazz is stuck with as long as she wants to keep her classic 57 T-Bird?

Jazz is a kick-ass character that is about as 3 dimensional as they come. This isn't your typical witch and vampire story. The writing keeps the reader turning pages for the non-stop action and absolutely delightful exchanges between Jazz and Nick and Irma and....WOW!  A MUST READ.

If you are a fan of supernatural beings and paranormal, you'll enjoy this book as much as I did. I can't wait to read more of the series.

50 Ways to Hex Your Lover can be found on Amazon and other online retailers

Thursday, February 9, 2012


I'm an avid reader and an author.  I read mainly the various romance genres and young adult.  If you'd like your book reviewed, please comment here, or email at books2lovereviews at gmail dot com.

Please allow at least two weeks for your review to appear.  In your email, please include the following:

Author Name
Author E-Mail
Book Title:
Approx. Word Count:
Would Like Interview: Yes or No (If yes, we will send a list of interview questions!)

And that's it!

Obviously, not everyone will like every type of book.  If you'd like to review for the site, please take the last book you've reviewed and send us a sample review of that title. Also, please let us know a little about you--are you a reviewer?  Do you write?  What genre do you prefer?  What is your turn-around time?  Do you have a way to review e-books? What format?

All reviews should be honest--but no book or author bashing! 

There are a lot of review sites out there.  The problem is that there are not so many that will review books by unknown authors or books that have been self-published.  We WILL.  However, if we receive a book that is simply very poor quality, we may decline to provide a review.

All books reviewed will have a review left on B&N, Amazon and Goodreads as well.  You may use your review in any promotional materials, as long as you link back to the site for credit to the reviewer. 

Be sure to follow us and check back often for the next Book 2 Love!